Highlights From The PBS Annual Awards Gala

The spectacular newly-launched Sofitel Darling Harbour played host to the 3rd annual Professional Beauty Solutions (PBS) Gala Dinner Awards on Saturday 8th September, where 150 glamorous and excited guests congregated to celebrate the industry’s best and brightest.

Pure Fiji’s traditional Fijian singers and guitar players delighted guests as they arrived for champagne and canapes, where salon owners, beauty therapists and brand ambassadors were able to relax and unwind after a busy opening day of Beauty Expo.

The evening’s proceedings were kicked off by MC Dani Lombard from Dani Lombard PR, welcoming PBS’ salons, partners and international guests including Youngblood’s international brand ambassador and makeup artist Philip Luque, Bestow Beauty founder Janine Tait, Image Skincare’s international educator Dawn Clifford, and Dermalux’s Managing Director Dale Needham.

Guests enjoyed a 3-course meal throughout the evening, accompanied by live music from White Tree Band, along with a comical montage of Tanya Hennesy’s “things people say to beauty therapists & things people say to spray tanners” across the big screen. A surprise video message from Hennesy herself was also included, wishing everyone a great night and best of luck to all the nominees.

Matt Williams, Christine Ewart (The Beauty Spot owner) & Lisa Williams

As the awards kicked into gear, winners were announced in 12 categories and runners up in 3 categories, plus for the first time, recognition for the outstanding achievements of salons who have been with PBS less than 12 months, as well as Best Newcomer Award. This year was also the first to encounter a tie for an award, with Body Wisdom Contour Clinic and O’Hara Skin & Body (both WA) taking home the Image Skincare Stockist of the Year Award.

The shining star of the evening, however, was The Beauty Spot; an elegant and tranquil salon in the heart of Victoria’s Swan Hill, which scored a total of 9 nominations including the prestigious Salon of the Year Award for 2018.

Congratulations to this year’s award winners!


Salon of the Year – The Beauty Spot Image Skincare

Stockist of the Year – Body Wisdom Contour Clinic & O’Hara Skin& Body Clinic

Youngblood Stockist of the Year – Skinfit Body & Beauty

Sunescape Stockist of the Year – Body Wisdom Contour Clinic

Dermalux Stockist of the Year – Vaia Beauty

Bestow Beauty Stockist of the Year – Oi Cosmetics

Cherry Blooms Stockist of the Year – Bella Spazio Spa & Beauty

Body Sugaring Australia Stockist of the Year – Skinfit Body & Beauty

Pure Fiji Stockist of the Year – Macquarie Medi Spa

Marketing Excellence – Beautorium House of Beauty

Best Newcomer – Turramurra Natural Beauty

Retail Therapist of the Year – Laura Browne (The Temple Skincare)

Runners Up

Youngblood Stockist of the Year (Runner Up) – La Bella Medi Spa

Bestow Beauty Stockist of the Year (Runner Up) – Chateau Elan

Pure Fiji Stockist of the Year (Runner Up) – Saya Beaute Bar

Leave a comment:

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required